I moved to Los Angeles!

Los Angeles, L.A.,the City of Angels, Tinseltown…home.

Today is my fifth day in my apartment, but my first day on my own. My mom had been with me since Aug 27th, driving out here from North Carolina, helping me move in, and buying me everything under the sun, but I drove her out to LAX this morning. I don’t like to cry in front of people, but we both lost it when we hugged goodbye. Right before she turned to leave she told me, “You’re making the right decision,” and I swear I could cry all over again just thinking about it.

None animated GIF

I’ve been worrying that being alone here would send me into a whirlwind depression, but so far that’s been cushioned by the fact that I’m in love with my apartment. It’s an old craftsman home that’s been remodeled into about a dozen units, and mine is filled with every Ikea product known to man and the cutest little desk you’ve ever seen. My windows are enormous and my balcony makes me feel like I’m in a treehouse, so no complaints there. Here’s to hoping sunset only brings on the night-time snacking and not the night-time sadz.

30 rock animated GIF

Officially, I don’t have to do anything school-related until August 18th, save for some orientation and paperwork things. That’s when TA training begins, and then classes will start on the 26th. I guess I should mention that, *officially*, I’m going to grad school at USC for Critical Studies in Film. Until then, I’ll be spending my days reading all the things I should have been reading over the summer and trying not to eat all the food my mom bought to stock me up for the next few weeks. #thelittlethings

One thought on “I moved to Los Angeles!

Leave a Reply

