Day 14: Fears

Day 14: You can tell a lot about a person by looking at what scares them. Name a few times in your life where you were truly terrified.

There are two ways to go about this post. Pretty easily, I can rattle off a list of irrational fears I encounter on a daily basis. Like this:

1. Walking up the stairs in the middle of the night with the lights off. “Oh god, what is going to be at the top of the stairs when I get up there? What is something is following me up the stairs, better go faster.”

2. The steps between the bathroom and my bedroom at night. “Better hurry up and get back in that bedroom before something runs out from the end of the hallway. There, now close that door as fast as possible for safety.”

3. Looking out a dark window at night. “Don’t stare too long, a face might appear.”

4. Um, night-time in general. All of it.

Or, I could talk about actual things to be afraid of. Like this:

I fear being a failure. I am so afraid of messing up that I’d rather not even try most of the time. How messed up is it to be so afraid of failure that you sabotage your own success? I’m not sure if that says more about me, or more about the world we live in.

Hilary Duff is my daily inspiration.

Leave a Reply

