Oscar Predictions

The Oscars are this Sunday! Here are my predictions/wishes for the the big categories on the big night:

Best Picture
People who know me know that I have been very vocal about my dislike of American Hustle. The fact that it’s already won big prizes at the Golden Globes and SAG Awards is concerning. Ugh, I thought it was awful and would be so disappointed if it wins Best Picture, but it’s certainly a possibility. My first choice for Best Picture would be 12 Years a Slave. It deserves it the most in terms of serious drama. My personal favorites of the year were Her and Wolf of Wall Street, but for Best Picture, 12 Years a Slave all the way.

Actor in a Leading Role
Going by the trend, I’d have to say that Matthew McConaughey is a shoo-in, but you never know! I’d have no complaints with MM, Chiwetel Ejiofor, or Leonardo DiCaprio as winner. The three of them were all so strong this year, but in completely different ways, so it’s ridiculous to compare them and choose the best. To me, they all deserve it. (Secretly hoping with all of my being that Leo takes it!)

Actor in a Supporting Role
Jared Leto. That is all.

Actress in a Leading Role
This category is tough for me, because I haven’t seen Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine. She appears to be the front-runner by most other predictions. Amy Adams was the best part of American Hustle, so it wouldn’t be terrible if she won. Besides the two of them, I can’t say I was blown away by the other three nominees this year. I guess my vote is for Cate Blanchett by default?

Actress in a Supporting Role
If Lupita Nyong’o does not win for her performance as Patsey in 12 Years a Slave, I will be outraged. Especially if she loses to Jennifer Lawrence again. That was such a travesty. To me, there are no other options for this category.

Animated Feature Film
My wish is for Frozen, and I think it’s going to take it home too! It hasn’t been an awesome year for animated films, and Frozen has definitely been a standout.

Directing
Since the trend is for Best Director to match Best Picture, I should be hoping for Steve McQueen here. Personally, I think Alfonso Cuaron should have it, and I hope the two categories will split again this year. No complaints about either director winning though.

Cinematography
Gravity, all the way. Once the awe of Gravity wore off, it became easier to criticize it, but the visuals can never be criticized. They’re fantastic. Same for the Visual Effects category too, but pretty sure that one’s a lock given the competition.

Last category!

Original Song
Let it go! Let it go! Can’t hold it back anymore! Unofficially, song of the year?

What are your Oscar Predictions?

3 thoughts on “Oscar Predictions

  1. I wasn’t incredibly impressed with Blue Jasmine as a film (which is weird because I love Woody Allen films), but Cate Blanchett’s performance was really great so she’d be my pick for that category too.

Leave a Reply

