February Me-Updates

In January, I posted about New Year’s Resolution’s and status updates on meself. Let’s see how I’m doing!

GRAD SCHOOL

Grad Schools Applied to: 5
Grad Schools Rejected from: 2
Grad Schools Waiting On: 2
Grad Schools Accepted To: 1 (USC FTW!)

I thought I’d been overwhelmed before, but it’s nothing compared to making decisions about grad school. It’ll be a few more weeks before I have all the necessary information to make a decision. For now though, all the “what-if” scenarios are stressing me out more than I could have imagined. 

BOOKS

I recently found Sarah Addison Allen and read her first book, Garden Spells, in practically one sitting. Just couldn’t put it down. For a rough decription, it’s a mixture of Practical Magic and Big Fish. Allen writes magical realism with a southern twist, and all of her books are set in the Asheville, NC area, a magical place indeed. I have seen criticisms that GS is too similar to Alice Hoffman’s Practical Magic. Those claims aren’t entirely invalid, but Allen does magical realism much better that PM. IMO, PM is more fantasy than magical realism, which isn’t a bad thing, they’re just different. If you’re looking for southern magical realism, Sarah Addison Allen is fabulous.

Also read Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling. Started reading Gone Girl but I wasn’t into it and currently reading more Sarah Addison Allen.

MOVIES

I finally posted about all the movies I’ve seen over the last month over on my Movies of 2014 page! You can check out my mini-reviews hereThe Lego Movie is my favorite of the year so far, meaning movies actually released in 2014, not the 2013 holdouts. Worst, without a doubt, was That Awkward Moment. So, so, so awful.

TELEVISION

The Olympics have taken over my television for the last few weeks mostly, although the summer olympics are more fun to watch, I think. Oh, and Jimmy Fallon! I’m so excited for him and he’s been doing a great job so far. And with Seth Meyers starting Late Night tonight, it’s a whole new generation of late night talk shows with two of the funniest men on television. 

And I have to mention House of Cards. In the middle of season two right now and it’s not holding my attention like season one did. There’s a difference between drama and sensationalism, right?

JOB

Still no job. I do have a pending application at a local bookstore!

DIET

Dieting is not easy. I’ve been trying to eat healthy more than diet, but portion and snacking have always been big problems for me. Somewhat happy to report though: I’ve lost 7.2 pounds on my own since the beginning of the year, just by changing my eating habits. Woo-hoo me!

RESOLUTION PROGRESS

Check out my resolutions, here.

1. Exercise: Yeah, so that hasn’t happened yet. Big surprise.

2. Watch all the movies in my Netflix queue: Hahahaha not even a dent.

3. Watch the acclaimed TV series: Not yet, but good intentions. Started watching Parenthood and finished Dead Like Me again. I think I want to start Pushing Daisies next.

4. Reading: Making progress. I’ve read a handful of books already this year thanks to free library books on my Kindle.

5. Be more near and organized: I’ve been doing well with this one. My madre and I have a saying about me: You can always tell when I’m most stressed out by how clean the house is. It’s how I relax myself, by organizing my surroundings. Maybe it’s a control thing, and a little bit of procrastination. So yeah, I’m not sure I’m proud of this one, but I am staying more organized.

6. Lose weight: Already talked about this. I’m doing okay, but I’d like to be doing better.

7. Stop eating out so much: Madre and I are still each other’s worst enemies with this one. It’s a hard habit to break, but we’ve been doing better than normal.

8. Budget: If I had money to budget…

9. Wear all the clothes in my closet: Um, I can do better with this. But I’ve hardly been going anywhere outside of the house, so it’s hard to judge my success rate.

10. Coloring Book: Oh wow, I can’t believe I forgot about my coloring book! I was so excited about this. Maybe I’ll color a page today.

Leave a Reply

