Day 27: Quotes

27. List 5 quotes that mean a lot to you and explain their significance.From: http://sumofourmoments.blogspot.com/2011/05/30-day-challenge.html

#1 “Do you know what it’s like to be cusping on adulthood and not know who you are, what you want to be, or even if you want to be?” Dead Like Me, “Pilot”, by Bryan Fuller

I first watched Dead Like Me years ago, but I picked it back up about a week ago. This time around, I can’t get over how much I feel like George. She’s 18, a college drop-out, and picks up a temp job because she has no other options or motivations. Then she dies in a hilarious freak accident and becomes a grim reaper. Watch it, it’s amazing. This quote, from pre-dead George, completely speaks to how I feel at this point in my life.

#2 “Well-behaved women seldom make history.” – Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

How can you not love this line? I first heard it years ago, probably in middle school, but it stuck with me. Even though it distinctly says “women”, I think it could be equally applied. Being well-behaved, following the status quo, and being obedient is going to change anything, whether it’s for the world, or just for you.

#3 “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean it is not real.” – J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I couldn’t call myself a true Harry Potter fan without including at least one quote, right? When I read this one, it was a moment. An I-have-to-put-the-book-down-and-think-on-these-feels kind of moment.

#4 “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.” – Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt

This is the perfect response to certain procrastination pointer-outers. That means you, Mom.

#5 “Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” – Marthe Troly-Curtin, Phrynette
Admittedly, I had to look this one up because I couldn’t think up any other good quotes. Doesn’t mean I love it any less. It will be my mantra as I click “Next Episode” on Netflix.


Leave a Reply

