Day 25: Month Goals

25. Give up something for a month, or plan to do something for a month and blog about your progress/struggles/triumphs.

I’m in the same camp as Kristi for this one. Making strict timelines and rules for a resolution usually ends in failure. As much as I want to ‘resolve’ to read a book every week for the next month and then carry it over into the whole year, I know the odds of that actually happening are slim to none. So much reading would cut into my Netflix time, for sure.

The goal I’ve set for myself this month is relatively simple, but it will require day to day effort. I think it will be good for me though. Especially since I’ve been unemployed and safe at home, effort and motivation have become foreign concepts. “Who says I can’t sleep until 11 in the morning, stay in yesterday’s pajamas all day,and eat mini raviolis from a can for breakfast? Not like I have a damn job to go to!” Effort and motivation have been fairly elusive entities for most of my life anyway. In my post grad unemployment, my day looks like varying stages of this:


source

So, to fix most of this, I’ve come up with a solution. Starting in February (I’m giving it a few days because I don’t need that kind of pressure in my life right now), I will wake up sometime before ten o’clock, and force myself to get dressed in real, semi-clean clothes before eleven o’clock. Nothing fancy, just something I could go to Target in and not feel like an object of ridicule. I find that at least when I’m dressed, the odds of napping are drastically reduced because I am much less comfortable. Maybe I’ll even post pictures if I look cute some days. Hey, would you look at that? I’m just thinking about getting dressed and it’s already making me want to be more productive. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

