Day 19: Recommendations

19. 5 Recommendations: Recommend 5 things (place, activity, book, movie, etc.) that you feel are hidden gems. Source:From: http://epitomeabsolute.com/home/?p=1094

1. If you live in the Raleigh area, you must go to Suzanna’s Antiques. I’d say it first opened about six years ago, and it’s grown to be a whole village of antique, crafts, shabby chic, and custom creations. Just about every room in my house has something from Suzanna’s and we even have a reclaimed wood sideboard table painted bright orange. Honestly, it’s one of my favorite places and we usually visit every weekend. Here’s their facebook page, link!

2. I’ve always been persnickety about sandwiches, and the main requirement is that chips go on the sandwich, not on the side. Best simple sandwich ever: Roast Beef, American Cheese, Tomato, Mayo, and Sour Cream and Onion Potato Chips on French Bread. Hashtag salivating. Sandwiches for every meal! But the chips, it’s a must try.

3. This might be strange to some people, but I grew up in a house where it was completely normal to re-arrange the furniture at least once a month, if not more often. I chose my dorm in college based on the furniture. Most every building had beds, dressers, and bookshelves connected in a solid piece and bolted to the wall. It would drive me stir-crazy to not be able to move things around and make a space look fresh every so often. I recommend it. It’s completely motivating and refreshing.

4. A few years back I found a Showtime series called Dead Like Me and fell in love with it. It’s hilarious and morbid, relatable and bizarre. Plus, it has Mandy Patinkin, and Ellen Muth playing a grim reaper named George. Basically, George is a twenty-something college dropout going nowhere when she dies suddenly. She becomes a reaper and the show follows her after-life with a colorful group of reaper friends. Here’s a clip of the main characters, minus Patinkin, hanging out at Der Waffle Haus:

5. Call me a dork, but I am a huge fan of coloring. Believe me, I’m no artist. I color with Crayola markers from Target and love the Velvet posters from A.C. Moore. There’s something about it that’s very relaxing. It makes you focus without being exhausting, and comes with the same sense of accomplishment as finishing a puzzle or a book in shorter time. Bonus: You get a pretty picture in the end!

One thought on “Day 19: Recommendations

Leave a Reply

